Home / News Updates / The VI CARICOM CUBA Summit Commences

The VI CARICOM CUBA Summit Commences

(PRESS RELEASE) – The VI CARICOM CUBA Summit will strengthen the exchange and cooperation for Caribbean development and integration.

Recognizing the historic decision of four independent CARICOM countries: Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago, to establish diplomatic relations with Cuba on December 8, 1972, that date was chosen to organize the CARICOM Cuba Summit. December 8 was also established as CARICOM Cuba Day. The first CARICOM Cuba Summit was on December 8, 2002 in Havana and it takes place every three years. In 2017, 45 years of relations between CARICOM and Cuba are celebrated.

Cuba has diplomatic representation in all CARICOM States and all CARICOM States have diplomatic representation in Cuba.

The relations between CARICOM and Cuba are an example of independence, courage and concerted action, are developed on the basis of solidarity, brotherhood and collaboration in the areas of Scholarships, Education, Health, Sports, Culture, Infrastructure, Technical Assistance, and also for confronting the negative consequences of Climate Change and to develop Commercial Relations. CARICOM and Cuba promote peace and unity.

Cuba defends a special and differentiated treatment towards the Caribbean, and advocates an advantageous access of the Caribbean to Trade, Investments, Financial Resources and Technologies. CARICOM and Cuba extended their Trade Agreement in November 2017 that guarantees reciprocal duty-free access to more than 320 Caribbean products.

Army General Raúl Castro Ruz, President of the Councils of State and of Ministers of Cuba, arrived at Saint Mary’s, Antigua and Barbuda, Thursday morning of December 7 to participate in the VI CARICOM – Cuba Summit.

The Cuban President will also make an official visit to Antigua and Barbuda and will attend the Third Session of the Assembly of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS).

The Cuban delegation is also made up of Bruno Rodríguez Parrilla, (Minister of Foreign Affairs), Rodrigo Malmierca Díaz (Minister of Foreign Trade and Foreign Investment), Manuel Marrero Cruz (Minister of Tourism) and Elba Rosa Pérez Montoya (Minister of Science, Technology and the Environment), as well as by Inés María Chapman Waugh, President of the National Institute of Hydraulic Resources of Cuba;  General Ramón Pardo Guerra, Chief of Civil Defense of Cuba; Rogelio Sierra Díaz, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs and Gustavo Véliz Olivares, Ambassador of Cuba in Antigua and Barbuda.

The VI CARICOM CUBA Summit will conclude with a Joint Declaration.

Check Also


Export Saint Lucia has inked an official memorandum of understanding with Helen’s daughters. The agreement, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.