Home / Sports / Gros Islet Football League Football Awards Ceremony

Gros Islet Football League Football Awards Ceremony

[Pres Release]  The Gros Islet Football League held its Annual Football Awards Ceremony under the Theme: “Celebrating Excellence: Tapping into the limitless potential of our footballers”.

The 2nd Annual Gros Islet Football League Awards Ceremony was held on Saturday April 21st, 2018 at the Gros Islet Secondary School Auditorium at 7 pm.

During 2016/2017, the district of Gros Islet secured various championship titles in National competitions namely; Under 15 boys Champions 2017, 2nd Place U16 girls 2016 and 3rd place U17 girls 2017, Under 22 3rd place 2017, 3rd Place in back to back Blackheart Tournaments 2016/2017, and Champions of Champions Trophy 2016. Numerous executive members also secured spots on national delegations within the national football structure.

At the just concluded National Independence Sports Awards, hosted by the Ministry of Youth Development and Sports, the Gros Islet Football League was crowned Organization of the Year 2017. All of these successes were as a result of the joint effort of the league’s executive; the establishment and functional operation of the league’s various clubs and teams; and most importantly the talent and perseverance of the players within the district.

The proceedings was chaired by the League’s General Secretary Lavorne Verdant-Desir with help from three orators; Charde Desir, Vice President of the League, Francillia Austin, PRO of the Gros Islet Youth Development Council and Sheris Paul. Various brief remarks were shared at the start of the ceremony most notably being the President’s address by Mr. Shayne Paul and the Hon. Lenard Spider Montoute. The Guest Speaker was Danil “Boots” Denis. Mr. Denis lit up the awards with his words of wisdom and gave the young people hope for their future using a number of scriptures from the Holy Bible. Every nominee received a Certificate of Recognition.

Find a list of awardees and award categories below:

Category: Individual Awards (Male)

U16 Best Striker: Jeremiah Justin
Best Midfielder: Simeon Francis
Best Defender: Liam Bonaire
Best Goal Keeper: Daren Donaie

Category: Individual Awards (Cont’d)

U20 Best Striker: Gabriel Biscette
Best Midfielder: Kimani Jeremie
Best Defender: Sebastien Ribot
Best Goal Keeper: Stavone Gabriel

U23 Best Striker: Selwyn Boyce
Best Midfielder: Tev Lawrence
Best Defender: Ed Williams
Best Goal Keeper: Christopher Albert

Senior Best Striker: Troy Greenidge
Best Midfielder: Melvin Doxilly
Best Defender: Charlery Mathurin
Best Goal Keeper: Caster James

Individual Awards (Female)

Junior Category

Best Striker: Vionce’ Weekes
Best Midfielder: Melanie Richards
Best Defender: Thai Fowell
Best Goal Keeper: Kennisha Joseph

Senior Category

Best Striker: Kazia Eugene
Best Midfielder: Mellisa Price
Best Defender: Marva Herman
Best Goal Keeper: Vangel Rosemain

Special Award: Commonwealth Beach Soccer Gold Medallists Recognition:

Linus Clovis
Dylan Elliot
Sebastien Ribot

Category: Coaches Awards

Community Achievement Award: Walter Joseph and Anthony Evans
Coach of the Year: Chris Monrose
Lifetime Achievement Award: Francis Mc Donald

Category: Club Awards

Most Disciplined Club : GMC UNITED
Most Improved Club: GMC UNITED
Club of the Year: Northern United

Academic Awards:

Shervad Hippoyte, Aaron Richards, Kadeem Ellis, Jasper Williams, Kay-Liegh Michaud, Mario Hannah, Sebastien Ribot

Officials and Support Staff who have served the league for the past two years were recognized where each got a certificate of Appreciation.

Media officials from across the media spectrum were also recognized for their contribution over the years to the league. Each media personnel received a framed certificate of Appreciation.

All sponsors of the awards received a plaque for their generous contributions.

Category: President’s Award

Youth Player of the Year: Gabriel Biscette
Senior Player of the Year: Melvin Doxilly
Female Player of the Year: Thai Fowell
Ballon D’or Award: Troy Greenidge
Longevity Award: Jenifer Gaston
Executive Member of the Year: Shayne Paul and Charde Desir
Special Award: Premier Support Pair: Mitchel Ribot and Mr. and Mrs. Scott
Epic Soccer Moment: Caster James
Team Player Award: Jhoshwa Prospere
Soccer Mom Award: Donna Stephen
Soccer DAD Award: Mr. Anthony Gilbert

The Gros Islet Football League would like to express profound appreciation to its sponsors whose assistance in ensuring that plans for the events were well executed. .

Some of the sponsors for the night’s proceedings include the Digicel St. Lucia, SLFA, Honourable Lenard Montoute, Scott Sports and Awards, Nagico St. Lucia Limited, LUCELEC, KP Marine St. Lucia Limited, Peter and Company Distribution, Ministry of Youth Development and Sports, Massy Stores Coal Pot Restaurant, Rainforest Adventures St. Lucia and the Gros Islet Youth Development Council.

Check Also


The FINA World Aquatics Day is a day to celebrate and encourage the power of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.