Home / Sports / 2016/2017 Gros Islet Football League Awards Ceremony

2016/2017 Gros Islet Football League Awards Ceremony

[Press Release]  During 2016/2017, the district of Gros Islet secured various championship titles in National competitions namely; Under 15 boys Champions 2017, 2nd Place U16 girls 2016 and 3rd place U17 girls 2017, Under 22 3rd place 2017, 3rd Place in back to back Blackheart Tournaments 2016/2017, and Champions of Champions Trophy 2016.

Numerous executive members also secured spots on national delegations and within the national football structure.

At the just concluded National Sports Awards, hosted by the Ministry of Youth Development and Sports, the Gros Islet Football League was crowned Organization of the Year 2017. All of these successes were as a result of the joint effort of the league’s executive; the establishment and functional operation of the league’s various clubs and teams; and most importantly the talent and perseverance of the players within the district.

In an effort to highlight and recognize the efforts of the players, administrators, coaches, officials, supporters and sponsors, of the sport, in the district for the period January 2016 to December 2017, the Gros Islet Football League will hold its Annual Football Awards Ceremony. The 2nd Annual Gros Islet Football League Awards Ceremony will be held on Saturday April 21st, 2018 at the Gros Islet Secondary School Auditorium from 7 pm.

Find a list of short listed nominees and award categories below:

Category: Individual Awards
U16 Striker: Jeremiah Justin and Jahlil Evans
Midfielder: Simeon Francis and Sherman Augustin
Defender: Meshach Emmanuel and Liam Bonaire
Keeper: Daren Donai and Rick Cenac

Category: Individual Awards (Cont’d)
U20 Striker: Linus Clovis and Gabriel Biscette
Midfielder: Samuel Lawrence and Kimani Jeremie
Defender: Sebastien Ribot and Garvin Donai
Keeper: Stavone Gabriel

U23 Striker: Selwyn Boyce and Manoah Fessal
Midfielder: Tev Lawrence and Lyndan St Juste
Defender: Melvin Doxilly and Ed Williams
Keeper: Devon St Prix and Christopher Albert

Senior Striker: Troy Greenidge, Elijah Louis
Midfielder: Everton Lambert and Eden Charles
Defender: Charlery Mathurin and Zev Oculien
Keeper: Giovanni Deterville and Caster James

Category: Coaches Awards
Community Achievement Award: Coach B and Peter Philogene
Coach of the Year: Chris Monrose and Francis Mc Donald
Lifetime Achievement Award

Category: Team Awards 
• Most Disciplined Team
• Most Improved Team
• Team of the Year

Category: President’s Award
• Youth Player of the Year
• Senior Player of the Year
• Female Player of the Year
• Ballon D’or Award
• Longevity Award
• Executive Member of the Year
• Special Award: Premier Support Pair
• Epic Soccer Moment
• Team Player Award

The Gros Islet Football League would like to express profound appreciation to its sponsors whose assistance is ensuring that plans for the events are well into its advanced stages.

Some of the sponsors for the night’s proceedings include the Digicel St. Lucia, SLFA, Honourable Lenard Montoute, Scott Sports and Awards, Nagico St. Lucia Limited, Lucelec, KP Marine St. Lucia Limited, Peter and Company Distribution, Ministry of Youth Development and Sports, Coal Pot Restaurant, and the Gros Islet Youth Development Council.

Check Also


The FINA World Aquatics Day is a day to celebrate and encourage the power of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.